Successful Screwpile 2021… In the Books!

When we turned off the lights at the party tent on
Monday night, we knew we had pulled off a classic Screwpile Regatta that drew
comparisons to great Screwpiles of the past.  Part of it had been the return to
Zahnisers.  But…  John Luskey and his band had been rocking and
played an encore song at the demand of the remaining partiers.  Five kegs of Coors Light and Corona Premier
had been floated.   Gallons of Rum Punch
had been consumed.  Dave the Diggity Dog
hot dog vender had run out of hot dogs. 
Chesapeake Custom Embroidery had sold a slew of Screwpile T-Shirts.  And… most importantly, a couple hundred
Screwpile racers had just spent two awesome days on the water racing in almost
perfect conditions… 10-15 kts of wind, sunny skies, temperatures in the 70’s,
and classic, exceptional race management. 

Don Behrens did his usual professional race
management job on the ORC/PHRF course working his mark boat teams and deftly
reacting to the numerous wind shifts to keep the windward/leeward courses
optimized for best racing.  Jim Whited,
as PRO on the Cruiser course, did an equally noteworthy job on their course.

All the five race classes had a very strong and
competitive mix of boats.  Particularly
noteworthy was the ORC class with eleven boats, each of which was capable of
winning podium honors.  When it was all done,
the four J/111 boats had swept the results with Rod Jabin and his RAMROD crew
finishing with 5 bullets and being named the overall 2021 Screwpile Champion as
well as winning the Patriot Cup.  We wish
those four J/111 crews all the best in next month’s J/111 World Championships
in Hampton. They certainly had a good warm-up at Screwpile.

Congratulations to all podium finishers and to all
boat crews who competed in these hotly contest races.  Podium finishers include: ORC… Rod Jabin, RAMROD, J-111 1st, Ian Hill, Sitella, J-111 2nd,
Peter Wagner, Skeleton Key, J-111 3rd;
PHRF A2… James Sagerholm, Aunt Jean, J-35 1st;  Mike Beasley, Rattle and
, GP-26 2nd;  Keith
Mayes, Jubilee, Beneteau 36.7, 3rd;  PHRF B/C… Sam McGuire, Blow’viate, J-24 1st; Mark Gyorgy, Wicked Good, Tartan Pride P270 2nd; and Terry
Reese, USA 4201, J-24 3rd.
  In the Cruiser Class for Spinnaker…
Sean Gallagher, Ippon, X-332 1st; Non-Spin… Elliot Peterson,
Stingray, Dufour 40 1st; and Chris Egger, Destiny, Beneteau 473 2nd.

Current Chairman of the Screwpile Lighthouse Challenge Regatta